RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Garden Cheer

2 Comments

Here is a handful of cheer from my garden. My capsicums went in a bit later than I would have liked this year but moving to a new home will do that… despite this they have made a valiant attempt to produce me some fruit before winter sets in. There are some plants that grew well and some that hardly grew at all, all depending on where they are planted in the garden. Even the tiny plants made an attempt, hence the 2 small capsicums in the picture. There are many more to come, they are currently green but usable if necessary.

As capsicums can be treated as a short lived perennial in my area I will try to over winter them this year and see if we can persuade them to stick around for another fruiting. If not I’ll be off to the nursery again in spring.

The passionfruit flowers are coming to an end and it seems my attempts at playing ‘bee’ have all come to nought. The vine is flourishing but there is no sign of the magical little green globes that I so wish to see. I must admit to being thankful that there is no longer a need for me to scramble up on top of our garden wall and totter about painting flowers of an afternoon. Next year I will leave that job to the bees, rest an axe against the wall and see if the unspoken threat will encourage some fruit.

At the moment we are putting up a new fence around the front garden. The previous fence was steel (always a good idea in a coastal area, not) and was rusted out to the point that a good wind was going to blow it right over. Before we even moved into this house I was researching how to remove rust stains from limestone. Many of the ideas involved some very nasty chemicals and a lot of safety gear. My husband just attacked them with a wire brush, he’s a pretty straight forward kind of guy. Low and behold the rust stains are gone; he’s a bit dusty but not being slowly dissolved by evil chemicals. My hero!

We have a bit of an issue with a council tree pushing over our side wall so the fence has stalled until they can find the time to get out and have a look. Then I suppose there will be a process to follow to have them come and do something about it. So that side of the garden will remain fenceless for a while yet. Meanwhile my front garden looks endless at the moment as there is no fence on the park side, I feel like landed gentry with grounds to look after when I go outside. The feeling is even more surreal when there is a groundskeeper from the council mowing their grass or attending the other plants, I feel like I have ‘staff’. Glad I don’t have to pay them though!

So this week’s run down is: capsicums – good, passionfruit – bad, rust stains – gone, fence – work in progress. A pretty good score all around.

 

 

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

2 thoughts on “Garden Cheer

  1. What a gorgeous red color. I love how gardeners can just pick their own veggies from the garden with no need to go to market.

Leave a Reply

