RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

A recycling triumph!

Leave a comment

This post could have easily been titled ‘what the hell are they doing with our bananas?’
This is a popular rant with me lately and it doesn’t seem to be coming to any easy resolution, in fact the problem is getting progressively worse. It started a few years back with apricots and pineapples, then nectarines and peaches, then tomatoes and now finally bananas. Look, I realise that things always tasted ‘better’ when you were young and a lot of that is probably just a combination of poor memory and deteriorating taste receptors but I swear apricots used to be squishy and fragrant, not sour and hard like a golf balls, pineapples used to be aromatic and tasty, not green and scentless. Nectarines and peaches became hard and tasteless and tomatoes that used to be red and ripe are now sold like hard pink cricket balls. Now bananas are sold hard and green, worse yet they don’t ripen! They go brown but are still as tasteless as if they’d stayed green, you may as well eat the peel as eat the fruit, there is hardly a textural difference and the taste is the same. What the hell are they doing to our fruit?

There is this big push to eat more fruits and vegetables but frankly, why would you? It all tastes like Styrofoam and plastic wrap. I realise that the idea is to make them transportable and storable but should that be at the cost of them being edible?

Believe me, if we had an organic, fresh food grocer anywhere in my area I would be there doing my best to get something to eat that is both the correct colour and flavour, unfortunately I am stuck with what the big supermarkets make available to us. It’s no wonder I am obsessed with fitting as many vegetables into my small patch as possible, pity about the fruit though.

Anyway, now that you have sat patiently through my rant I will share with you the reason for my outburst and the recycling heading.

I bought some bananas a few weeks ago, they were yellow-ish (mostly they are sold bright green so I though this an improvement). Now weeks later they are brown, but still hard as rocks, and tasteless to boot. Okay, I’ll make a banana cake, maybe they will improve in flavour once cooked. No, no and no. A beautiful cake emerges from the oven, before it is even cool slices are cut and although it seems to lack that banana-ry scent there is still hope. No. No taste at all. Might as well have cooked the peels into the cake, so dissaapointing! Anyway, long story short the offending cake did not get eaten and sat, mouldering (not really) on the countertop.

Now I HATE wasting food so the search was on for something to do with leftover cake that doesn’t involve trifle (which I abhor!) I found the below recipe and tossed in some white choc-chips, and along with the vanilla something beautiful was born. Now in my opinion a bit of ginger in these would have made them spectacular but as it is, they are pretty darned good and an excellent way of using up left over cake, if you ever have such a thing in your house. I cut the sugar a bit, as I am wont to do. I froze some also (I have truckloads of them) and I am betting that it works out okay.

The original recipe is here (along with other ideas on what to do if this tragedy befalls you also)

 

Cake Crumb Cookies

Mix 1/2 cup unsalted butter (softened)
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla/lemon/or almond extract
1/2 tsp salt

until thoroughly combined.

Mix in 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cup flour
1 1/2 cup cake crumbs

Add 1 cup dry mix-ins (chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, nuts, raisins, etc.).

Chill the dough, then scoop out tsps full onto trays.
Bake in an 180C degree preheated oven for 12 minutes.

 

 

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

