RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

I made tortillas!

2 Comments

Over the weekend I was trying to come up with a sufficiently suitable way to celebrate the picking of the capsicums. I wanted to make something special that we would all enjoy as a meal, something that we don’t have every day.  I settled on making a Mexican inspired tomato chicken filling (using the capsicums of course) and cooking tortillas to wrap it in. This teamed with a good sprinkling of cheese and a spoonful or two of Greek yoghurt made for a delicious and satisfying dinner.

Although the chicken filling was a grab and dump recipe again, I can share the tortilla recipe with you. This was a really simple and enjoyable process and I will certainly do it again. Considering the ease and the taste difference between these and store bought wraps it is a no-brainer.

Tortillas
Makes 8

2 cups (300g) plain flour
1 teaspoon salt
50g butter
3/4cup (180ml) warm water, approximately

Sift flour and salt into bowl, rub in butter. Stir in enough water to form a soft dough.
Knead dough well on floured surface about 10 minutes or until smooth and
elastic. Cover dough, stand 1 hour.
Divide dough into 8 pieces. Roll each piece on lightly floured surface until about
a 20cm circle.
Cook tortillas 1 at a time in heated comal or heavy-based pan (I just used my non-stick pan) until underside is flecked with brown and bubbles appear on surface. Turn tortilla, cook other side,
pressing down bubbles with rolled tea towel (I used my spatula).
Grease pan lightly only if tortilla is sticking. Keep tortillas warm by wrapping
in clean cloth.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

2 thoughts on “I made tortillas!

  1. That is brilliant! I am going to try making these for sure!

  2. Pingback: Indian Mexican combo | RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Leave a Reply

