RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Sweet and Tangy Fish

Leave a comment

I don’t often post fish recipes, that is because my husband likes to cook the fish that he catches. This time however he gave me free rein and this is what I came up with.

I used small herring fillets but any white fish will do, just adjust the cooking time to account for the thickness of the fish. These we had with broccoli and lightly roasted potatoes. My daughter cleaned her plate, always a good indication if a recipe meets with the family’s approval.

 

Sweet and Tangy Fish
4 servings

2 Tbls butter
3 tsp lemon juice, divided
1 tsp Dijon mustard (I used seeded)
1 tsp red wine vinegar
2 tsp honey
1 tsp chopped fresh thyme
salt and pepper to taste
500g fish fillets

In a bowl, whisk together 1 teaspoon lemon juice, melted butter, mustard, red wine vinegar,
honey, thyme, salt, and pepper.
Drizzle a little of the butter sauce into a non-stick pan.
Place the fish into the prepared baking pan and fry off for about 3 minutes.
Turn fish, and drizzle with the remaining butter dressing mixture.
Continue frying about 2 minutes, or until fish is easily flaked with a fork.
Remove from heat, and sprinkle with remaining lemon juice to serve.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

