RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Chilli, not chilly

Leave a comment

Here are 5 more rescue chillies from my vegetable garden. I didn’t plant chillies for the simple reason that we don’t eat that many. If all of these survive then I am guessing I will have to find ways to incorporate more chilli into our lifestyle. There are still many in the garden but these are the ones that got disturbed when I pulled out the tomatoes over the weekend. I have 2 that transplanted with a pot of chives earlier in the year that are in full fruit and flower mode so these little guys have some catching up to do.

Next to the chillies is a pot of mint that was grown with stems of mint from the supermarket, why constantly buy when you can propagate?

I love this time of year, the ground is damp and fragrant with rain and the garden is flourishing. The air is heavy with the idea of a thunderstorm. Everything is washed clean again after the dusty long summer. Plants (and weeds) jump up out of the ground as if possessed with the need to grow quickly before the cold comes, or worse, before the summer returns. Give me any excuse at the moment and I am out tending to my vegetable garden, I find the cooler weather much more pleasant to be out in and the sun doesn’t burn like it does in summer.

I am definitely a winter person
(I will add a disclaimer here, winter temperatures in my area get down to about 2 degrees Celsius on a cold night, I am an Australian winter person!).

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

