RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Reuse and recycle

Leave a comment

This is a true ‘rescue and recycle’ pot. The mint in this pot is the small pieces I find scattered through my vegetable patch. I guess it died off in the previous owner’s moonscape but in true mint style it has revived and it making a comeback now that there is a gardener in residence. I dig it out whenever I see it because I am very aware of its weed potential. The attractive little pot it is growing in was left behind by the previous owners so it seemed an appropriate house for an equally ‘left behind’ and neglected plant. Both are serving me well and will continue to do so long into the future.

Plant pots are something I often buy second hand. Nice pots are very expensive so I paw through the local online advertisements looking for people selling off their unwanted pots cheaply. I had to call a stop to it a few weeks back when I realised I had at least 10 pots too many for my own use. I have them stacked away down the side, waiting for new plants. I have an area behind my house that seriously needs some gardening, we are removing an old lawn and replacing it with garden beds. Some of my pots, hopefully all, will find a home there once it is done. The rest will go back into the paper for another thrifty gardener.

There is something very satisfying about recycling something, even if it’s just an old discarded pot and a neglected plant.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

