RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Lunch Scrolls

2 Comments

The kids are with us again this weekend and, as typical kids will, they would be happiest subsisting entirely on junk food. This being somewhat of an affront to my sensibilities, I am kept on my toes thinking of things that I think they will enjoy eating that are not purchased at exorbitant costs from deeply uninterested conglomerates and are of universally poor quality.

Today, for lunch, I whipped up a batch of bacon rolls, the recipe for which was adapted from a salami roll recipe, I didn’t have any salami. They went down well, and the entire batch was gone before the trays cooled down.

This recipe could be dressed up with almost anything you have on hand. Like I say, I substituted bacon for the salami, I also cooked the capsicum along with the bacon. You could use ham or chicken, BBQ sauce or satay. Anything that tickles your fancy really.

Salami Scrolls
Makes 12

2 cups self-raising flour
30 g butter, chilled
¾ cup milk
¼ cup tomato paste
1 sprig basil, chopped
1 sprig parsley, chopped
100 g salami, diced (I used cooked bacon)
1 medium red capsicum, diced (I cooked this up also)
150 g cheddar cheese, grated

Preheat oven to 180°C and line an oven tray with baking paper.
Place flour and butter in a bowl, once blended add the milk gradually
and use fingers to combine together to make a soft, sticky dough.
Knead lightly on a floured surface.
Roll dough into a 30 cm x 40 cm rectangle. Spread the tomato paste over the dough,
sprinkle the chopped herbs on top. Top with salami, capsicum and cheese.
Roll up from the long side of the dough. Using a serrated knife, cut into 12 pieces.
Place cut side up on oven tray and bake for 25 minutes until brown.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

2 thoughts on “Lunch Scrolls

  1. Ooh I would love to unravel these!! Brilliant flavours and they look delicious!

    • They were really tasty and devoured piecemeal within a few minutes of leaving the oven. The kids were constantly wandering through sniffing for more once they were gone so I will put this in the ‘make it again’ pile for sure!

Leave a Reply

