RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Strawberry Ripple Cheesecake

Leave a comment

I was reading someone’s blog today and they were waxing lyrical about the perfectness of peoples food blogs, the perfectly manufactured pictures in carefully detailed settings, the amusing and clever anecdotes and interesting and exceptional stories that people tell and all I could think was, ‘well she’s never been to my blog’.

My blog is made by me and for me, it isn’t impressive or clever, the pictures are quick snaps taken with my phone when the fancy takes me. They are often blurry and somewhat out of focus and the content isn’t always displayed to its greatest advantage. I don’t have exceptional stories or amazing wonders to share. I am a quiet unassuming individual that writes a blog just ‘because’ and if it brings joy of any kind to other people then that is a very good thing, but just so long as it doesn’t hurt anyone then I am happy.

Please, don’t come to my blog to see amazing food pictures, or to read about interesting and amazing adventures because you won’t find it here. Just some simple and easy recipes, the odd post about my little vegetable patch, even a photo or two of my cat and some rambling about whatever crosses my mind when I sit at the computer to write a post.

I may be old, I may be boring, I may be a stick in the mud (it has been said by an unkind person with whom I no longer associate) but I am happy and you can’t ask for more than that!

Just in case happiness eludes you today, here is a recipe that is guaranteed to MAKE you happy. Who wouldn’t be happy with a cheesecake of this calibre? This is my favourite cheesecake (sorry honey, I swear I will make a lemon one next time!). Have at it!!!

Strawberry Ripple Cheesecake

1x 250 g pkt plain chocolate biscuits, crushed
125 g butter, melted
1x 250g punnet strawberries
whipped cream
strawberries
3 teaspoons gelatine
1/3 cup water
1x 250 g pkt cream cheese
200 g carton strawberry yogurt
3/4 cup caster sugar
300 ml carton cream, whipped

Grease spring form tin. (I like to line it with aluminium foil)
Combine biscuits and butter in bowl. Press over base and side of prepared tin.
Cover and refrigerate until set.
Sprinkle gelatine over water in a cup. Stand cup in pan of simmering water, stir until dissolved; cool slightly. Beat cream cheese, yogurt and sugar in a bowl until smooth.
Fold in cream and gelatine mixture. Blend strawberries until smooth.
Pour half the filling over biscuit base, cover with half the strawberry puree. Using a fork, gently swirl puree through filling.
Repeat with remaining filling and puree; swirl with a fork. Cover, refrigerate for several hours or until set.
Serve decorated with extra whipped cream and extra strawberries.

 

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

