RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Simple and satisfying seafood

Leave a comment

Husband is away. I take the opportunity to indulge my love of prawns. He loves fish but despises all other things seafood. Luckily my Daughter also enjoys prawns and she chose this combination for dinner last night. I must say it was quick and easy to prepare and a real winning taste combination. The lemon rice is something we have made for years and teamed with almost everything conceivable but it does go best with seafood. The prawns were crisp and succulent and the rice lemony and buttery. I even have left overs for lunch today that I have been fantasising about since about 7am, it is now 9am and am not sure I will be holding out until lunch time.

Simple Garlic Prawns

24 green king prawns (who am I kidding, I used a whole bag of prawn meat and adjusted the rest accordingly)
1/3 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons butter
3 cloves garlic, crushed
1 tablespoon chopped parsley
Peel and devein prawns, leaving tails intact. (if you like that kind of thing, I use already peeled prawn meat)
Combine olive oil and butter in a pan, melting the butter.
Stir in garlic, cook for I minute. (I added a good handful of chives here also)
Stir in prawns. Cook until pink.
Sprinkle with parsley.

 

Lemon Butter Rice

2 Tbls Butter
1 onion, finely chopped
1 cup white Rice, uncooked
1 1/2 cups chicken stock
Grated rind of 1 lemon
To make the rice, melt butter, add onion and cook over moderate heat
for about 2 minutes.
Add rice, toss in Margarine and cook for 1 minute. Add stock.
Bring to the boil, stir, cover and simmer for 15 minutes or until tender.
Add salt and pepper to taste.
Add lemon rind, fork lightly and allow to stand 5 minutes before serving.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

