RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Chicken Lombardy

Leave a comment

This was my Friday night dinner. My Daughter was away for the weekend (she was still home while I was preparing this and was totally put out that she was missing it) and my husband was flying in later in the evening so I wanted something I could prepare earlier and know would be good whenever he got home. This fit the bill perfectly.

The photographs don’t do this any kind of justice. This meal was amazing. For a casserole that took a few minutes to throw together it had a deceptively ‘fancy’ flavour. If I was served this in a restaurant with a nice side of vegetables I would be very pleased indeed.

Of course there was tweaking involved. This recipe originated in a very old microwave cook book that I used to own. The microwave used to have a ‘roast’ setting which my current one does not have so I thought I would adapt it to the oven instead, that is the recipe that you find below. Also I didn’t have any brandy handy (my husband is a South African ex pat, brandy does not last in this house) so sherry made a decent substitute.

 

Chicken Lombardy

1kg-chicken pieces
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
2 onions, coarsely chopped
2/3 cup chicken stock
2/3 cup dry white wine
3 tablespoon brandy (I used sherry)
1/2 cup cream
1 cup white breadcrumbs
30g butter, melted
1 teaspoon finely chopped oregano

Preheat oven to 220C.
Brush chicken pieces with oil. Place on Low Rack and cook for 30 minutes until roasted.
Combine salt, pepper, onions, chicken stock, white wine, brandy and cream.
Place chicken pieces in a 3-litre casserole dish. Pour over sauce.
Sprinkle with combined breadcrumbs, butter and oregano.
Cook for a further 20 mins or until crumbs are toasted and sauce is heated through.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

