RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Nibbling in the garden

Leave a comment

I needed to distress a little today, I was hungry and I’d been particularly busy so I took a break to have a quick lunch/snack and wander through my patch and chat to the plants. I toasted a slice of bread and covered it with a very thin slice of good cheddar cheese, exited the back door and wandered about happily munching. Everything is looking good and, as you can see, the brassicas are growing very nicely considering the lack of direct sunlight at the moment. Something caught my eye and an idea popped into my head, cheese and chives! Clipping a few long leaves off with a fingernail I took a mouthful of toast and cheese and crammed in a half a chive leaf and was very, very pleased with the results. You can probably see, if you look closely enough, that my chives are missing a few leaves that are now residing in my very happy belly.

How nice is it to stand out in the fresh breeze, munching on good cheese and fresh produce, chatting to the plants like you have nowhere else to be? It was a super way to spend a few moments decompressing and just instantly relaxed me, at least enough to get back into the grind without losing my mind.

Working from home requires control and rigorous dedication to a schedule but it rewards me in so many little ways. I am not extraordinarily social so I don’t miss the interaction face to face with people on a daily basis. I get enough social interaction over the phone to keep me sane (more or less), sometimes the phone calls are what drive me a little bonkers.

Being able to step outside into a world of green, which grows because I put the effort into nurturing it, gives me some much needed peace during my work day. I don’t pity people who work in an office, it isn’t what I would choose, given the choice but the social component is very important to some people. I do pity those who are like me and would thrive better in a home environment but are not able to make that choice for themselves.

What with my garden and my negligible fuel consumption I think my situation is both the best thing for my sanity and for the natural environment and I am grateful for the opportunity to work in this way. I am also grateful for the chives and the cheese, what a combination and what an excellent day!

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

