RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Fresh greens

3 Comments

I often worry excessively about the green component of our meals. My husband isn’t a massive fan of vegetables of any kind so our meals tend to lean toward the meat and rice end of the spectrum without the addition of too many vegetables. I however, very much enjoy my vegies and incorporate at least a few broccoli florets in my meal even if he is not interested in partaking.

Chopping up this mountain of herbs from the garden for inclusion in today’s meal has made me reconsider my worrying tendencies. We may not get a lot of traditional vegetables in our diet but I’d have to imagine that at least some of accepted proportions would be made up by our somewhat ‘over the top’ herb consumption.

This little lot was predominantly parsley, some spring onions, sage and thyme that was to be part of a white wine marinade for a new rack of lamb recipe. Along with the lemon rind, garlic and some dried rosemary (my plant is still a little small for harvesting) this will all be seasoned with salt and pepper, rubbed into the lamb with some white wine and olive oil and placed in the refrigerator until later this afternoon. It smells wonderful, I can’t wait to start cooking it later.

Meanwhile, looking at the pots, you would never know I’d been harvesting. Things are growing lush and fast right at the moment and there certainly isn’t a shortage of any herbs except, of course, basil. I will harvest another bunch of parsley later in the week and chop it up ready for freezer bags, for those stormy days you don’t want to go outside and harvest (parsley freezes very well)

Currently I have basil, thyme, sage and parsley in the freezer, flat packed in little sandwich bags. Most of these herbs are growing well in the garden but sometimes self-preservation kicks in and I just don’t want to go out in the rain to pick fresh herbs. The freezing also give me an excuse to get out in the garden and harvest when the weather is good, so it is win win for me. Over and above all of that, I just love the way my kitchen smells when I have chopped up a mountain of herbs, the place smells fresh and green and wonderful.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

3 thoughts on “Fresh greens

  1. How lovely to have all those herbs available .. Simply lovely

Leave a Reply

