RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

A new kitchen toy

Leave a comment

I bought a new microwave. There was nothing wrong with the old one (it will find a new lease on life when my daughter gets her own place) it just didn’t fit in the microwave recess in the new house’s kitchen. For the past 5 months I have filled the recess with odds and ends and lamented the amount of bench space lost to the microwave. Last week we decided to just go out and do it, downsize and get a new microwave and put the old one out to pasture.

Of course, new oven, new cook book!

As I have a freezer full of fish at the moment (my husband was very successful on his last trip out) I decided to make sweet and sour fish and team it with a new rice recipe from my new microwave cook book. This actually made tons of rice, which I have been enjoying for the past few days with anything and everything. I think it could have used a touch more salt or stock powder and I think I might even change it up a little with some curry powder and make a curry rice this way. It was a fantastically easy way to do flavoured rice and I will certainly try it again.

The fish, by the way, was Australian Salmon. A lot of people think this is just a sport fish and not at all good to eat but I particularly like it. It is a firm white fish, although there tends to be quite a bit of darker meat also. It lends itself to being cubed and deep-fried like this and also works well as fillets. It is also a largish fish and so provides a good amount of flesh for the time and effort it takes to catch and clean, which is also a bonus in my book.

So a few easy recipes for today:

My ‘go to’ easy Sweet and Sour Sauce, great with chicken, fish or pork.

Sweet and Sour Sauce

1 Tbls plum jam or 1/2 cup plum marinade
1 Tbls cider vinegar
1 Tbls mild chilli sauce

Place it all in a pot and stir to mix well.
If using a thinner marinade then let boil down to desired consistency.

 

My ‘go to’ easy light batter

Light Batter

3 egg whites
1 1/2 tablespoons cornflour

Lightly beat egg whites and mix in cornflour thoroughly.

I used this same batter on a recipe previously (see Lemon & Ginger Chicken) and it works well for anything that needs a light batter.

 

My new ‘go to’ easy and quick rice recipe, thanks to my new Panasonic Microwave cook book.

Fragrant Coconut Rice 
Serves 6

1 onion, chopped
2 cups long grain rice
500ml chicken stock
400ml coconut milk
1 tsp turmeric

Place all ingredients in a 3L casserole dish.
Cook on full power for 15-18 mins.
Cover and let stand for 10 mins before serving.

 

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

