RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Fish with Dill Sauce

Leave a comment

This recipe made a truck load of sauce/dressing/whatever you want to call it. I plan on making some chicken nuggets this week to mop up the left overs as I think that will be a dandy combination. Initially the honey in this sauce gave it a peculiar taste (to me anyway) but after ½ an hour in the refrigerator the flavours blended together and the honey taste dissipated into the sauce leaving it with just a hint of sweetness to blunt the tang of the yoghurt a little.

This sauce/dressing/whatever was fresh and light, full of herbs and tasted great, both with the fish and with the ubiquitous roast potatoes that it was teamed with.

I am enjoying the opportunity to cook more fish of late (my husband is allowing me to cook the fish for a change, as long as I give him free reign to keep on going out to catch it, it’s a win/win). This was another meal of Australian Salmon. The more I eat this fish, the more I wonder why it isn’t more popular amongst recreational fishermen as a table fish, oh well, all the more for me!

 

Fish with Dill Sauce

3/4 cup Greek yoghurt
1/2 cup fresh parsley leaves
1/2 cup fresh dill
1/2 cup chopped green onions
3 Tbls rice vinegar
1 Tbls honey
1 garlic clove, chopped
3/4 tsp salt, divided
1 Tbls vegetable oil, divided
6 fish fillets
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Combine first 7 ingredients in a food processor; add 1/2 teaspoon salt. Process until pureed.
Heat 1 1/2 teaspoons oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.
Sprinkle fish with 1/4 teaspoon salt and pepper. Add 3 fillets to pan; cook 3 minutes per side
or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork. Remove from pan, and keep warm.
Repeat procedure with remaining oil and fillets; serve with sauce.

 

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

