RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Lemon Meringue Slice

Leave a comment

‘My favourite so far’ which is high praise indeed being as we have been together for over 5 years. This was the first thing out of my husband’s mouth once he swallowed the first bite. Although, admittedly I didn’t have much time to bake the first few years we were together, I have been baking at least one biscuit or slice per week for the past 2 years running. This apparently gets the thumbs up as the best of the best, so far and I have to admit, it’s pretty good.

I’ve made lemon meringue pies before (not since I met my husband, too many other things to try) and I have never made one containing condensed milk so this was a surprise to me when I first read the recipe. This is certainly a more mild tasting lemon filling than I am used to but it was lovely despite that. I guess the things to remember are that it is a slice and not a pie and it contains condensed milk so it is bound to be a little different.

If you enjoy something fresh and light but totally decadent at the same time, this recipe is well worth a try, and it looks fairly impressive too.

Lemon Meringue Slice

1½ cups plain flour
½ cups icing sugar
150 g cold butter
1 teaspoon cold water
395 g condensed milk
2 eggs, separated
2 teaspoons grated lemon rind
½ cup lemon juice
1/3 cup caster sugar

Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease and line a 20 cm x 30 cm lamington tray.
Process the flour, icing sugar, butter and water until the ingredients cling together.
Ball mixture together with hands and press evenly (using the curved side of a spoon) over base of prepared pan.
Bake at 180°C for 15- 20 minutes or until browned.
Combine egg yolks, condensed milk, lemon rind and juice in a bowl.
Pour over cooked base and bake a further 10 minutes.
Beat egg whites in small bowl until soft peaks form. Slowly add caster sugar, beating until the sugar is dissolved.
Pour meringue over lemon filling.
Bake for an extra 10 minutes or until browned.
Cool in pan.
Cut into medium sized pieces to serve.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

