RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Butternut Biscuits

Leave a comment

These are a nice sweet biscuit, perfect for dunking in coffee or they would make a nice cheesecake base if you are into baking things just to mush them up again (I’m not, store bought for things like that!). Anyway, they are a lovely biscuit if you are looking for something sweet, relatively plain and hardy enough for a lunch box. That said I am NEVER making them again.

This may seem like a weird statement but, please, let me clarify.

I have a thing and considering the amount of baking I do it will probably seem a little odd, but I HATE getting sticky stuff on my hands. I can handle it, if it comes of fairly readily but if it hangs around and get progressively worse then my stress level elevates rapidly. Normally a biscuit dough comes off your hands as you roll them in your palms but today (it is 7C in my  house this morning so it isn’t the heat affecting things) this biscuit dough just built up on my hands as I rolled the biscuits like you wouldn’t believe and it would NOT come off. I ended up making an additional biscuit at the end by scraping my palms off with a knife. I was almost frantic by the time I finished and could run my sticky hands under hot water to budge the build-up.

A workmate and I were discussing phobias last week and this one didn’t immediately come to mind but it sure raised its ugly head today.
As I write about it, I can still feel my heart beating a little faster.

Anyway, if you don’t have a sticky, stress related disorder then these are really nice biscuits. They are chewy in the middle and crisp on the outside. Sweet, with a syrup and toasted coconut flavour, you couldn’t eat too many in a sitting.

 

Butternut Biscuits

2 tablespoons butter
1 cup sugar
1 egg
½ teaspoon cream of tartar
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
Pinch salt
1½ cups flour, plain
½ teaspoon vanilla essence
1 cup desiccated coconut
2 tablespoons golden syrup
1 tablespoon milk

Preheat oven to 180°C (fan-forced 160°C).
Mix all ingredients together well.
Roll dough into small balls and place on greased tray.
Bake for 15 minutes, or until brown.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

