RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Chocolate Brownies with Sour Cream Frosting

Leave a comment

Moist, dense and chewy with pecan nuts for added texture and flavour, this was a pretty good example of what I like in a brownie. The sour cream and chocolate frosting is very good also and super easy to make. (I actually bought sour cream for this recipe, I doubted that my usual Greek yoghurt substitute would do it justice)
I melted all the necessary chocolate in the microwave instead of over a double boiler, because I am just fond of short cuts like that.

I put aside 4 of these immediately upon cutting to take to my Grandmother this week. Everyone in the household has been warned not to touch the container, even in the horrific advent that all of the others disappear. Fingers crossed the ‘pain of death’ warnings take and I still have 4 to gift to my Nan when I see her.

Chocolate Brownies with Sour Cream Frosting

125g butter
185g dark chocolate, chopped
1 cup castor sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla essence
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup plain flour
1/2 cup chopped pecan nuts

Sour Cream Frosting
100g dark chocolate, chopped
1/4 cup sour cream

Grease a deep 19cm square cake pan, line base with paper; grease paper.
Melt butter and chocolate in saucepan over hot water.
Transfer mixture to large bowl. Stir in sugar and essence, then eggs, sifted flour and pecans.
Pour mixture into prepared pan, bake in moderate oven for about 30 minutes, cool in pan.
Turn brownies out, top with frosting; refrigerate until set before cutting.
Store in refrigerator.

Sour Cream Frosting: Melt chocolate in heatproof bowl over hot water, stir in sour cream, stir constantly until mixture is smooth and glossy.

Keeping time: 4 days. (tee hee hee)

 

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

