RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Zucchini Timbale

Leave a comment

I case you can’t tell from the photo, the recipe of the day was the little zucchini do-dad sitting pretty there with its little garnish of quick tomato coulis, not the deeply marinated steak with Jimmy’s sauce that sits in front. To digress, I have spoken of Jimmy’s sauce before and you should really give it a try. Anyway, back to the zucchini.

This little Timbale (learned something new! Thought a timbale was just a drum, turns out it’s a drum shaped food also) was easy and delicious (my daughter and I ate 2 each!) and done in the microwave to make it a speedy dish also. It’s a great way to use zucchini and I will certainly do it again. The coulis I made with a tin of crushed tomatoes as I abhor peeling tomatoes.

 

Zucchini Timbales with Tomato Coulis

8 small (500g) zucchini (I used 2 bigger ones, about 600g in all)
300g carton sour cream (used up that carton I bought for the brownies)
2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil
4 eggs

Tomato Coulis
2 tomatoes, peeled, chopped
1 clove garlic, crushed
2 teaspoons’ tomato paste

Puree zucchini in blender or processor, place in bowl, cook on HIGH 5 minutes, drain well, pressing out as much liquid as possible, place in bowl.
Stir in sour cream, parmesan cheese, basil and lightly beaten eggs.
Divide mixture between 6 individual dishes (1/2 cup capacity), cover each dish;
cook on MEDIUM-LOW 5 minutes. (Mine made 8 of these and took about 8 mins to cook properly)
Turn onto serving plates, spoon Tomato Coulis around each one.
Garnish with slice of zucchini and tomato if desired.

Tomato Coulis: Combine tomatoes, garlic and tomato paste in bowl, cook on HIGH 5 minutes and puree in blender or processor, strain.
(I didn’t process or strain my coulis; I like the chunkier rustic feel)

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

