RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Jam it!

1 Comment

Jamy, chewy and nutty, these went down pretty well with visitors on the weekend.
I was feeling a little low the other day so did what I like to do best and baked up a storm. First it was the Cardamom cookies and immediately thereafter it was these little beauties. None of them outlasted the weekend’s guests.

I find it very therapeutic to bake and it’s even better to see people enjoying the fruits of my labour. If you want to cheer me up, come over for a cuppa and eat everything I have made this week, I’ll even package up a care package for you to take home, as long as my food gets eaten and enjoyed, I am a happy bunny. It also saves me from eating the lot myself which is a blessing in itself J.

The recipe called for peach jam, I didn’t have peach jam but I did have a jar with a little plum, another with a little apricot and another with a little ginger jam. It all added up nicely to a little over 280g so it made a quick trip into the microwave to warm up and a good stir to blend and this is the flavour we ended up with. Obviously your slice taste will vary with your jam selection but I can tell you that just about anything goes.

Jam Pecan Bars

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
3/4 cup butter
1 cup chopped pecans, divided
280g peach jam or preserves

Combine first 6 ingredients; cut in butter with a pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse meal. Stir in 1/2 cup pecans.
Remove 3/4 cup of the mixture and set aside. Press remaining mixture evenly into a lightly greased 20cm square pan.
Spread peach jam over base; sprinkle with remaining 1/2 cup pecans.
Sprinkle reserved crumb mixture over pecans.
Bake at 180C for 35 to 40 minutes; cool. Cut into bars.

 

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

One thought on “Jam it!

  1. Pingback: Peach and Pecan Cake | Recipes for a Healthy You

Leave a Reply

