RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

New Hair do’s and Raspberry Muffins

Leave a comment

I have finally caught up with all the recent post from my favourite bloggers. It’s been a hectic few days and I just have not had the time to sit and read everyone’s thoughts this week, this morning I made time and put time aside also to catch up on my own posts that have been slightly erratic recently.

Yesterday was a long but fairly pleasant day spent with my daughter and a friend who is training to be a hairdresser. My friend recently made a very generous offer to colour my hair (she needs experience and offered to do it for a lot less expense than a salon normally would) but I had to decline as I don’t dye my hair. My daughter however, as all late teens are, is as keen as mustard to change her hair colour at every possible opportunity, so I accepted on her behalf and yesterday we made the trek into the city to the training salon.

She had everything under the sun done to her hair and was beautifully looked after by the team of trainees and their very friendly and competent teacher. They even trimmed my hair for me while I waited. At the end of the day everybody gushed over how wonderful her hair looked and she did indeed look gorgeous. She is very happy (and so is my pocket book at the amazingly low price of it all). It was a long day and a long trip both there and home again, but it was worth every penny and moment to spend time with and do something nice for my girl.

So thank you to all the lovely ladies at Spring Hair Academy in Perth WA for your kindness, friendliness and professionalism. We had a lovely day there and will remember you every time we look in the mirror. We will be happy to recommend you to everyone we know and I am sure you will see us again.

And because we spoke about them yesterday and had everyone there drooling, here is my favourite muffin recipe.

Raspberry Muffins

1/2 cup – Butter
2 – Eggs
1 1/8 cup – Sugar
3 cups – Flour (divided)
3 t – Baking Powder
1/2 t – Salt
1 pinch – Baking Soda
1 cup – Milk
1 t – Vanilla
2 cups – Raspberries (I use frozen)
Raw sugar for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 200C degrees.
Grease 2 12 cup muffin pans, or use liners. In a large bowl cream butter with sugar and add eggs.
Reserve 3 tablespoons of the flour and combine the remaining flour with baking powder, salt and baking soda.
Combine milk and vanilla.
Alternately add the milk and flour mixture to the creamed butter and egg mixture.
Sprinkle reserved flour over berries and gently fold berries into the mixture.
Fill each muffin cup 3/4 full and sprinkle tops generously with raw sugar.
Bake 15-20 minutes, until done.

The sugar makes a crunchy topping that adds a real flavour and texture to the muffin.

 

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

