RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

My favourite meal is left-overs

1 Comment

After a long day out and about, coming home to the aroma of a pork roast in the oven was just heaven. I have my wonderful husband to thank for that and it was delicious. He had simply rubbed the pork skin with salt and put it in the oven. When I came in a joint effort to prepare potatoes, broccoli, rice and gravy rounded out the meal very nicely indeed. Our dinner was as delicious a meal as you could hope for mid-week.

The pork roast was a fairly large roast for the 3 of us and yesterday I pulled the remains from the refrigerator to slice and dice into another meal. It ended up being a large amount of meat (and the odd left over spud along with it) so I decided on a cottage pie for dinner last night.

This couldn’t have been simpler, the pork was so full of flavour that I decided against dressing it up with anything at all aside from the leftover gravy from the roast (of course that had lots of tasty bits having been made with the pork drippings). I chopped up the meat and the leftover potatoes, mixed them with the leftover gravy and popped the mix into a casserole dish. After being topped with a good thick layer of mashed potato and a handful of grated cheddar the dish was placed in the oven until the top began to brown.

Oh I do love good hearty comfort food in the winter and this has to be close to my number one pick for the best thing ever to do with leftovers. As I am writing I am thinking of lunch (hours away yet) and I can’t wait to dig into the cottage pie leftovers. Who ever thought that leftover leftovers could be so good?

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

One thought on “My favourite meal is left-overs

Leave a Reply

