RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Balsamic Marinated Steaks

1 Comment

Definitely a meat and potatoes kind of weekend.
I found a tray of budget scotch fillet in the freezer over the weekend and decided that although I wasn’t too sure if budget meant tough, I’d marinate it in a vinegar based marinade just in case it could use some tenderising. Turned out pretty spectacular so I’m not sure that budget necessarily means tough but best to err on the side of caution.

I served this with just a microwaved potato (I love that ‘served’, sounds so elegant, totally unlike ‘I dumped this on a plate with a zapped spud’ Haha). I really fancied a simple potato with butter and I am very partial to microwaving them as opposed to waiting for them to cook in the oven.
A simple and tasty weekend meal.
Balsamic Marinated Steaks
Serves 4

3 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoons coarse mustard
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
1 tsp Rosemary
4 steaks

Mix together the oil, vinegar, mustard, salt, and pepper and rosemary in a large, shallow dish.
Place steaks in marinade and turn to coat.
Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate 30 minutes or overnight. (mine stayed in for about 6 hours)
Lightly coat clean grids of grill with cooking oil spray. Heat the grill to medium-high heat.
Place steaks on grill and cook, to your desired doneness.(I hate to give times for steak, it’s all about personal preference)

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

One thought on “Balsamic Marinated Steaks

  1. That’s a nice looking hunk of meat.

Leave a Reply

