RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Greek Roast Lamb

3 Comments

Doesn’t this look succulent and delicious? It was! I don’t normally bother to post recipes for roasts. I think a roast is a simple thing that you tend to do the same way all the time, however suits your tastes. This was one I tried over the weekend, it is pretty similar to what I would normally do except I normally cook slowly and then crank up the heat at the end. This was the other way around. I would probably not add the wine every time either but gave it a go here and it was really very good and it made a rich and spectacular gravy with the drippings.

I love a roast dinner on a cold weekend, it is warming and comforting, it also makes the best leftovers ever! I see another shepards pie in my near future!

 

Greek Roast Lamb

2 kg leg of lamb
1 lemon, juiced
Oregano
Salt and pepper
55 g butter
1 cup red wine
Several cloves of garlic

Cut incisions all over leg of lamb and insert garlic cloves and a little butter. Use all butter
Then rub remaining herbs, salt and pepper over the lamb.
Pour lemon juice over lamb then set meat aside for an hour. (or 6)
Roast at 190°C for an hour then lower oven to 160-175°C.
Add 1 cup of wine. Keep basting the lamb until browned nicely and done to taste.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

3 thoughts on “Greek Roast Lamb

  1. i have a leg of lamb in the freezer… think i just found out what to do with it…

Leave a Reply

