RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Fish and Potato Pie

Leave a comment

I am always open to trying new things. Having said that, I feel like I can get a good idea of the end result of a recipe just by reading it and comparing the ingredients and cooking methods to more familiar recipes and can decide on the likelihood of success from there. This one threw me a bit because I have never tried anything quite like it and being a HUGE Shepard’s pie fan, the idea of the same theme but with fish was a little confronting. Having a large amount of fish in the freezer at the moment convinced me to give it a go however and I am so glad that I did.

This pie was exceptional.  It was savoury and tasty and everything I could hope for in a meal, especially a new recipe. The idea of a fish pie without a white sauce also took me by surprise, having seen recipes previously that all contained a white sauce component.

This even reheated nicely for those of you (like me) who fancy fish pie for breakfast (I don’t really run by the conventional rules when deciding what is breakfast food and what isn’t, my primary ruling is that if it is available it is acceptable) Anyway, if you are trepidatious (like I was) rest assured that this pie is worth the risk, give it a go and expand your ‘things to do with fish’ (or ‘things to eat for breakfast’) repertoire.

 

Fish and Potato Pie
Serves: 4

500 g fish fillets, steamed and diced (I microwaved mine in chunks at a low temperature for 10 mins or so and then flaked it)
2 tablespoons butter
2 medium onions, chopped finely
1 clove garlic, crushed
4 tablespoons chopped parsley
Salt and pepper
½ cup white wine
3 cups cooked mashed potatoes
Grated cheese

Melt butter in pan, add onion and garlic and sauté until transparent.
Remove from heat and add parsley, salt and pepper, fish and wine. Mix all together.
Pour mixture into greased ovenproof dish and top with mashed potatoes to completely cover.
Sprinkle liberally with grated cheese.
Bake at 200°C for 20 minutes or until top is golden brown.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

