RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Oven Fried Chicken

1 Comment

Last night was an attempt to placate fussy eaters that don’t like vegetables, most of whom were suffering from a cold. Not the easiest bunch to please.
I ended up with Oven Fried Chicken legs and cheesy mashed potatoes. Yes, I do leave the skins on my potatoes, I like it that way, it provides a nuttiness in flavour and a texture to the mash. I just added a good handful of cheddar to the potatoes as I mashed them to add something to further tempt my audience. Of course this would have been much improved (in my opinion) with the addition of a vegetable or two but you do what you can to tempt those unlikely to eat, I’ll have vegetables next week.

The chicken was tasty, my first attempted meal with my new ‘Old Bay Seasoning’ posted recently. It has a particular flavour that is unusual but not unpleasant to my palate. I guess it is a combination of the bay leaves and all spice, neither of which are regularly used in a lot of my recipes.

I really like the yoghurt/breading thing. It is quick and simple and a lot tidier than flour/egg/breadcrumbs.

Oven Fried Chicken

9 drumsticks
1 cup plain yogurt

Breading ingredients:
1 Tbls Old Bay seasoning
1/2 tsp Creole seasoning
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1 cup Italian breadcrumbs
1 cup flour
1/8 tsp pepper
dash cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp dried sweet basil
1/2 tsp garlic powder

Coat baking sheet vegetable oil spray.
Toss all breading ingredients in plastic bag to mix well.
Dip chicken in yogurt, then in breadcrumbs.
Spray the chicken lightly with vegetable spray.
Place on baking sheet.
Bake at 200C for 40 minutes, turning after 20 minutes.

 

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

One thought on “Oven Fried Chicken

  1. I really like the idea if using the yoghurt as the’sticker’ for the crumbs.. Cool!

Leave a Reply

