RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Choc-Cheese Brownie Slice

Leave a comment

I didn’t know what to expect from this recipe. I don’t much like the taste or texture of baked cheesecake and I was worried that this might be a bit similar so I didn’t hold out much hope that I would find this particular recipe to my tastes. How wrong can I be? Pretty damned wrong, it seems, is the answer to that.

This slice is light and moist and the cheese layer didn’t remind me of baked cheesecake at all. I enjoyed the toasty walnuts (but I love toasted nuts in general) and as it was not overly sweet or dense it wasn’t one of those slices where you say, it’s lovely but I could only eat a small slice. While you could easily cut this into minute squares and have it look fabulous served along with a high tea you can just as easily cut yourself a slab and plonk on the couch in front of the telly to enjoy with a cup of coffee.

I found the task of spreading the top layer of chocolate mix over the much softer and lighter layer of cheese filling a somewhat taxing task but other than that it was a fairly easy to follow recipe and I was very pleased with the result. My suggestion would be to make your cheese filling first and then hope that your chocolate mixture is still a bit warmer and softer than mine was when you get to your second layer.

 

Choc-Cheese Brownie Slice

185g dark chocolate, chopped
45g butter
2 eggs
3/4 cup castor sugar
1/2 cup plain flour
1/4 cup self-raising flour
few drops vanilla essence
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Filling
60g butter
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
185g ricotta cheese
1/4 cup castor sugar
2 eggs
2 tablespoons plain flour

Grease a 19cm x 29cm lamington pan.
Melt chocolate and butter over hot water, cool; do not allow to set.
Beat eggs in small bowl with electric mixer until thick, add sugar gradually, beat until sugar is dissolved.
Transfer mixture to large bowl, stir in sifted flours, essence and chocolate mixture.
Spread half the chocolate mixture into prepared pan.
Top with filling, then remaining chocolate mixture.
Run a knife in a zigzag pattern through mixture, sprinkle evenly with walnuts.
Bake in moderate oven for about 30 minutes.
Cool in pan before cutting.

Filling: Beat butter, essence and cheese together in small bowl with electric mixer until mixture is creamy.
Add sugar, beat until fluffy, add eggs one at a time, beat until combined.
Stir in sifted flour.

Keeping time: 4 days.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

