RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Cheesy Steaks with Tomato Sauce

Leave a comment

This was a meal that just happened. I had some ‘mystery meat’ that I pulled out of the freezer (you’d think after all of these years I’d learn to label things) I wasn’t sure of the origins of this meat until it defrosted fully. I had imagined that it was lamb steaks but it ended up being beef steak. Not to worry, I had plans that were interchangeable. I had a tub of ricotta that had been opened and needed finishing up and I always have tinned tomatoes in the cupboard so this seemed like a dandy time to try out cheesy steaks (of any kind).

Having made these up largely out of my head, and the need to use up the ricotta, I was very pleased with the results. It was mentioned to me that it would be an excellent dish made with chicken thigh (or breast, if you prefer) fillets. It was even suggested that maybe that should be dinner the following evening. Sadly I already have plans for our next meal and it isn’t a revisit of this one but I will make this again and I will try it both with chicken and with those lamb steaks, once I track them down.

Cheesy Steaks with Tomato Sauce
Serves 3

3 steaks
125g ricotta cheese
2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese

Tomato Sauce
2 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 can diced Tomato
2 tablespoon tomato paste
Salt & Pepper

3 slices of cheddar cheese

Trim excess fat and sinew from steaks, cover with plastic wrap, pound with meat mallet until thin. Spread steaks with combined ricotta and parmesan cheese, roll and place in casserole dish so they don’t unroll.
Combine all sauce ingredients in a bowl, pour over steaks.
Cook in 180C oven for 30-40 mins or until steaks are cooked through.
In the last 10 minutes, place a slice of cheddar over each steak and return to oven to melt.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

