RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Chicken and Mushroom Casserole

Leave a comment

My husband and I spend almost every waking hour of every day together and I miss him when he travels for work. We keep in touch via phone when he is gone but it isn’t the same, I miss him in so many different ways. The one thing that is good about his travelling is the opportunity to cook meals that he wouldn’t enjoy if he was here. This in no way makes up for him not being around, I’d give up mushrooms happily if he would just stay home but it is a little silver lining to the clouds that cover my day when he isn’t here.

I love mushrooms, I don’t often cook with them as my husband abhors them and they are a very pervasive flavour, you can’t just pick them out and make it okay, so I just leave them out. I love to have them on toast for breakfast (that I can do for just me) but I really love them teamed up with chicken, I think that makes the best flavour combination of them all.

Last night’s meal was just for me. My daughter (who also loves mushrooms) was inexplicably not hungry but I had a bag of mushrooms in the fridge, brought in expectation of an upcoming business trip and I was not letting them go to waste.

The preparation of this dish was fairly quick and although it took some time to cook it was certainly worth the wait. The rice cooked in the mushroom juices, stock and cream and could have been a meal just on its own. The chicken was half roasted, half poached from being exposed to the oven heat on one side and being submerged in the rice and liquids on the other side and was delicious.

There is still a fair amount left and I am very much looking forward to lunchtime when I can decently get dug into it again, I’ll freeze any leftovers for another meal down the track. Happily the business trip was only an overnighter and it is back to mushroomless meals again for the foreseeable future. This was certainly a meal worthy of the wait.

Chicken and Mushroom Casserole
Serves: 4

45 mL olive oil
6 chicken pieces
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 onion, sliced
250 g mushrooms, chopped
1½ cups uncooked rice
2 tablespoons fresh oregano, chopped
500 mL chicken stock
125 mL white wine
250 mL cream
Salt and pepper to season

Heat the oil in a large frying pan and brown the chicken.
Set aside and then saute the onions, garlic and mushrooms.
Add the rice and stir to coat with oil. Add oregano and transfer to a casserole dish.
Place chicken on top.
Combine the stock, wine and cream and pour over chicken.
Season with salt and pepper.
Bake in a preheated oven at 180°C for 1 hour and 15 minutes or until rice is tender.

Test the rice in several places before dishing out, I discovered that although the first spoonful of rice seemed cooked there were a few spots that could have used a little longer.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

