RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Crispy Pork Belly Strips

3 Comments

This was simple and tasty fare made on the spot when I found some pork belly strips in the freezer. I went searching for a recipe and found many delicious sounding sweet and sticky marinades for pork but it wasn’t what I was looking for yesterday, I wanted something simple that would just showcase the tastiness of the pork, without overpowering it with spices. Nigella to the rescue! I searched until I found Nigella’s blog and her idea of just roasting the pork, plain and simple.

It was amazing! Crispy and porky and the potatoes were meltingly soft underneath and slightly roasted at the sides. The onion had absorbed some of the pork drippings and was soft and fragrant and delicious. It was just what I was looking for. Thanks Nigella!

 

Crispy Pork Belly Strips

6 thin pork belly slices (I halved 3 thick ones)
1 large onion, cut into 6 wedges
5 potatoes quartered (obviously this depends on size, mine were fairly small)
Fresh Thyme & Sage
Salt & Pepper
Olive oil

Place onion and potatoes in a large baking pan, drizzle with oil and sprinkle with herbs.
Salt & Pepper to taste.
Drape the pork belly strips over the potatoes.
Salt & Pepper once more.
Cook for 40 mins at about 210C until the pork is crispy and potatoes cooked through.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

3 thoughts on “Crispy Pork Belly Strips

Leave a Reply

