RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Banana-Blueberry Muffins

Leave a comment

In using up the bananas I was going to just stick to banana bread which used 3 bananas but then discovered that I actually had 6 hiding in the drawer. I only have one loaf tin so a plan had to be devised to use up the remaining 3 bananas. So Banana Berry Muffins were born (with the addition of a spoonful of pineapple pieces that I had floating about in the refrigerator.

I used a Banana Blueberry Muffin recipe that I had on file. Along with the addition of the pineapple (just to use it up) I also used mixed berries because that was what I had handy. To be honest I am not a huge fan of blueberries, they lack the tartness of other berries that I find attractive when included in sweet recipes. I used 3 bananas and doubled all of the other ingredients to make 24 muffins.

Banana-Blueberry Muffins
Makes 12 muffins

2/3 cup  milk
1/4 cup  vegetable oil
1/2 cup  mashed ripe banana (about 1 medium)
1 egg
2 cups  all-purpose flour
2/3 cup  sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons  baking powder
1/2 teaspoon  salt
1/4 teaspoon  ground nutmeg
1 cup  fresh or frozen (thawed and well-drained) blueberries

Heat oven to 200C.
Grease 12 medium muffin cups, or line with paper baking cups.
Beat milk, oil, banana and egg in large bowl.
Stir in remaining ingredients except blueberries just until flour is moistened.
Fold in blueberries.
Divide batter evenly among muffin cups (cups will be almost full).
Sprinkle with raw sugar if desired. (makes a lovely crunchy top)
Bake 18 to 20 minutes or until golden brown.
Immediately remove from pan.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

