RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Creme Fraiche Chicken

Leave a comment

So, I’ve been away and indulged in more sun, food and fishing than is probably good for me. I took a lot of food with me, vacuum packed and frozen, that way we had good meals with little preparation. I did try to take a few photos of our food, some of them didn’t come out looking as tempting as they should have but if you have been reading my blog for long, you’d have realised by now that I am not in any way pretending to be a great food photographer. My food isn’t always pretty, but it is always tasty.

As I vacuum packed all of our meals and then froze them to take with us I changed a thing or two along the way to make things a bit easier. I combined all of the ingredients for the sauce without frying off the bacon first and froze the chicken legs in the mix. I found it took closer to an hour to cook the chicken all the way through but that could be the oven or the fact that I used legs rather than thighs.

We had it with rice as there was plenty of sauce to sop up and it was altogether a pretty tasty dish.

Creme Fraiche Chicken
Serves: 4

4 chicken thighs
3 heaped tablespoons wholegrain mustard
250 mL creme fraiche or sour cream
2 tablespoons minced garlic
6 rashers bacon, cut into 2 cm strips
Salt and pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 200°C.
Place chicken thighs into an ovenproof casserole dish.
In a bowl, add the creme fraiche, minced garlic, wholegrain mustard and salt and pepper.
Fry the bacon until golden in colour.
Mix the bacon into the prepared sauce and then spoon the mixture over the chicken, ensuring the chicken is well-covered.
Bake for 30-35 minutes.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

