RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Crumbed Fish Fillets

Leave a comment

This was a super tasty way to prepare fish. I was a little trepidatious about the mayonnaise coating, I was afraid that it would end up tasting strongly of mayonnaise. I decided to give it a try and was pleasantly surprised that it didn’t. I would not have known that mayonnaise was even involved if I hadn’t made it myself.

The mayo actually made the whole process a lot easier and less messy than the traditional egg and breadcrumb combination and the onion powder added a little tasty zing to the whole ensemble.

Of course the traditional thing to have with fish is chips. Sadly I am not much into making chips, I find it fiddly and time consuming, so this is my take on it. Fish and roast potatoes.

 

Crumbed Fish Fillets

500 g fresh fish fillets
1/2 cup mayonnaise
Seasoned breadcrumbs
Lemon wedges
Salt, pepper, onion powder

Wash, skin fish and pat dry.
Cut fish into serving pieces and sprinkle with salt pepper and onion powder.
Spread a thin layer of mayonnaise over each side of fish pieces.
Pat on seasoned breadcrumbs.
Place in a single layer on a greased oven tray.
Bake in a 180C oven until cooked through and crisp, about 20 mins.
Serve with lemon wedges.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

