RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Parsley overload

Leave a comment

I picked parsley this week. Since the advent of the warmer weather (still jumper weather but you can feel winter losing its grip) the herbs have gone a little mad. Looking at them daily out of my kitchen window, I decided that it was time to give the parsley room to do it’s thing by bringing in a good portion of it for freezing. The picture above it about half what I harvested, chopped and bagged. I ended up with 3 sandwich bags stuffed full (I daren’t post a picture lest I be mistaken for a ‘herb’ dealer, the bags look a little suspect if you don’t know what is inside).

I have also come to the sad and disappointing conclusion that the only real area that I have to grow vegetables is just not going to cut it. There is just not enough sun. I can fertilise and water and control almost everything else my little plants need but without enough sunlight they just don’t thrive and certainly don’t produce much of any worth. I have moved my silverbeet out of their sun deficient plot and into 2 big pots and dragged them out into the front garden where they tripled in size in 2 weeks after an entire winter struggling to produce a few lanky leaves. I am very disappointed but have resigned myself to pot grown vegetables that I can drag about the place to find the sunbeams they so desperately crave.

Meanwhile I have begun to plant more shade tolerant plants in place of my vegetables. The herbs were already in pots and are doing well where they are on top of the garden wall. So I will still be able to see them out of the kitchen window. The view will be different without my little vegetables but just as, if not more, pleasant I expect with plants that are happier where they are.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

