RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Cannelloni Con La Ricotta

1 Comment

Cannelloni, the world’s most fiddly dish to prepare (possibly this is an over exaggeration but it is sure the most fiddly one that I bother to make regularly) I Love it!

This is one of those meals that waits until my husband is travelling. He isn’t keen on the spinach. Personally this is a meal that I could eat every day, so long as I had unlimited time to cook, or a chef to prepare for me (if I had a chef I’d probably have him cook other foods though, no point in wasting a good resource)

I have tried cannelloni with other fillings but I keep coming back to this tried and true favourite. Sometimes I will use a store bought sauce in place of a freshly made one and I always mix the cream into the sauce before pouring over the cannelloni.

Cannelloni Con La Ricotta

Serves 5-6

250g spinach, cooked
225g ricotta or cream cheese
2 egg yolks, beaten
1 clove garlic, crushed
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/2 tsp salt
pinch pepper
10-12 tubes instant cannelloni

Sauce
2 Tbls oil
1*425g can tomato puree
1 tsp basil
1 tsp salt
pinch pepper
1/4 cup cream
1/2 cup grated cheese

Preheat oven to 200c.
Mix spinach, ricotta, egg yolks, garlic, cheese, nutmeg, salt and pepper together. Fill the
cannelloni tubes. Heat oil in a frying pan, add tomato puree, basil, salt and pepper and
bring to the boil. Remove from heat. In a greased ovenproof dish, pour a thin layer
of sauce. Place the cannelloni in the dish and cover with the sauce and cream.
Sprinkle with cheese. Bake for 25-35 mins until cooked.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

One thought on “Cannelloni Con La Ricotta

  1. Pingback: A truck load of ricotta | RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Leave a Reply

