RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Date Bars

Leave a comment

This is spur of the moment cooking. I knew I had the ingredients and the desire just came over me to cook something. In the middle of the morning I trip downstairs for a coffee and then return less than an hour later with freshly baked slice (it was a public holiday in half the country today and things were pretty slow at work. Last week when we had a public holiday I worked all day so I feel like it works out in the wash…)

This slice is very light and the dates give it a deep caramel like taste. Add that to the fact that I love anything with nuts in it and you have another winner. I will probably be the only household member that actually likes this but I am okay with that (all the more for me!!) I made a lemon cheesecake for my husband over the weekend so I am working on credit at the moment (I can do no wrong), it should last me for a week or so.

Date Bars
Makes 18 bars

1 Cup Pitted Dates, finely chopped
2 Tbls Apple Juice
2 Eggs
1/2 Cup Sugar
1/4 Cup Self-rising Flour
1 Cup Walnuts, chopped
Confectioner’s Sugar

Preheat oven to 180C.  Prepare a 20cm baking pan with non-stick cooking spray.
In a small bowl, combine dates and apple juice.  In a large mixing bowl, beat eggs until frothy.  Gradually beat in sugar until thick and lemon-coloured.
Gradually beat in flour.  Stir in nuts and date mixture.
Spread in prepared baking pan.
Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until the centre feels firm to the touch.
Cool in pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes.  Invert onto a cutting board.
Dust with confectioners’ sugar.  Cut into squares.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

