RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Garlic-Broiled Fish

Leave a comment

I will preface this recipe by saying that I am not a cold fish person, nor am I generally a leftover fish person. I will eat fish, I actually enjoy it most of the time but if there is any left it either goes to the husband (whose general aversion to seafood does not extend to fish, thankfully) or to the cats whose love for fish is universal and all encompassing.

Due to unforeseen circumstances that made the consumption of this dish immediately upon cooking impossible I was left with limited choices. My husband wasn’t hungry and I was not really comfortable giving an entire meal to the cats especially considering the garlic component and their natural aversion to things that are particularly pungent, lemony or herby.

I ended up eating a small amount of this fish hot with some rice (also leftovers) and the rest I flaked up and mixed in with the pan juices (lemony, garlicky and herby) and had it cold on hot buttered toast. How good was that? Amazing!

At first I had to overcome my aversion to the idea of what I was eating (all in my head but still difficult to budge), it made it hard to enjoy the first bite or two (the power of your mind to make things unpalatable just because you are unused to them amazes me but it can, thankfully, be overcome). After convincing my brain to shut up and just go with it, it began to realise that this was indeed a fabulous meal, tasty and wholesome, not to mention easy and plentiful. The fact was that it might as well give in because I was going to eat it no matter what.

This became my favourite breakfast/snack/lunch for as long as it lasted in the fridge, I finished the last of it yesterday and was extraordinarily sad to see it go. I am still amazed at how hard it was to get those first few bites down and how much I enjoyed it after I got over my natural(?) aversion to something I would normally not eat. It just goes to show you how strongly your food culture affects you and what you choose to eat. This meal was not even a huge leap into the unknown, not a wild aberration from my normal diet and it was still hard to accept at first. Now almost nothing in my refrigerator is out of question now when it comes to leftover snacking (although I still hate cold sausages).

Time to buy something new to try…

Garlic-Broiled Fish
Serves 4

3 Tbls lemon juice
3 Tbls olive oil
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1/4 tsp Tabasco sauce
2 tsp chopped fresh parsley
1/2 cup white wine
750g fish fillets

Preheat the oven to 180C
Combine the lemon juice, olive oil and seasonings in a bowl. Marinate the fish in this mixture for at least 30 minutes, or for as long as 6 hours.
Place the fish, skin side down, in a baking pan. Pour the marinade around the fillet.
Pour in wine until the liquid comes 2/3 of the way up the fish.
Cook the fish until done.

 

 

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

