RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Texan Pork Chops

Leave a comment

This dinner was based on the below recipe. As you can see, it kind of expanded as it went (I figure that you have to start somewhere). Thing was that I had pork chops and a jar of jalapenos in the fridge and fancied combining the two, so off I went.

Not having any salsa to hand I first made some in a pot on the side. 3 diced tomatoes, ½ an onion, ½ a capsicum, paprika and a good dose of Mexican chilli and some salt took care of that and I left it to bubble away while I started the pork chops.

I followed the recipe in as much as I fried both sides of the pork chops and then added my homemade salsa. I served it just as it was then (my husband isn’t a jalapenos fan) on rice for my husband and on baby spinach leaves for me. My husband started to tuck in while I began to dress up my meal.

The pork chop was topped with a generous serve of the salsa, smothered in cheese, topped with a large dollop of Greek yoghurt and then a few jalapeno slices to dress it all up just a bit. I also had a small packet of Spicy Mexican Sausages in the freezer that I popped into the pan and served along with the pork.

I was very happy with my meal, my husband enjoyed his. I think I’ll do it again sometime and continue to do it my way, the recipe was just not dressed up enough to satisfy my mood at the time but it was a good starting point.

Texan Pork Chops

4 pork chops
1 cup salsa
2 jalapenos chopped

Oil pork chops and fry both sides with salt and pepper.
Add salsa to pan and cook until heated through.
Chop jalapenos and add to pan.
Cook for 15 more mins.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

