RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Pork Belly Rub

2 Comments

So, nothing much happening in my life that is noteworthy. Just eating and sleeping and working. Any other time is spent pottering in the garden. I did repot a mint plant this week that took ½ hour to remove from its current pot, mint is tenacious. Despite its reluctance to move it should be much happier in its new pot with plenty of room to expand.

While I was struggling with my stubborn and ungrateful mint plant my dinner was roasting away in the oven. I fancied trying a new dry rub on some pork belly strips (I actually fancied lamb chops but there were none to be found in the freezer, so I settled for pork). I found a recipe here that sounded good and then changed it because I didn’t need that amount of dry rub that I’d never tried before and I like to change everything anyway. Having made some and tasted it, I think I will make myself a batch and keep it handy as I found it pretty enjoyable.

Pork Belly Rub

1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp garlic salt
1/4 tsp sugar
1/8 tsp mustard powder
1/4 tsp Mexican chili powder
1/4 tsp ground cumin
1/8 tsp ground black pepper
1/8 tsp cayenne

Combine all ingredients and rub over 5 pork rashers.
Place in a 200C oven for 1 hour or until cooked through with crispy skin.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

2 thoughts on “Pork Belly Rub

Leave a Reply

