RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Things that occupy my time

Leave a comment

I realised the other day that when it comes to sweet treats, Australians are oddly specific, more than any other country I have had any experience with. Having a South African husband (yes my test group consists of one person, that’s what makes this such an accurate scientific study) I can attest that collectively sweet treats from the service station or store are called sweets. In America I believe they are called candy bars and candy. My Nan (who is English) calls everything sweets also. In Australia we have chocky bars (because to call them chocolate bars would be too long winded and time consuming) interestingly anything in a bar shape falls under this category regardless of the chocolate content. We also have chocolate (not in a bar shape, in a block instead) and lollies, none of these are interchangeable. Of course there are some things that don’t even fall under these main categories, like fudge or liquorice for instance.

Interestingly (or not) it is exactly the opposite with potato chips, hot (fish and chips kind) are called chips, potato chips in a bag from the supermarket shelf are also chips. Funnily enough, the skinny fries from a burger joint are still generically called chips even though they are clearly barely related to a good, properly cooked, thick cut chip. They are more like a bagged chip that has been on a terrible diet and then got shredded (I am not a huge fan, can you tell?).

I also find interesting the different names for things internally in Australia and then there is the absolute fascination that I have for the different names for things (particularly food, I am a little obsessive about food) between countries. One of my other favourite activities is to watch YouTube videos of people eating things from different countries, or trying their own cuisine cooked by a chain store in another country (always amusing).

Anyway this has been a public service announcement just to make it clear that these are the scintillating things that occupy my time. Forewarned is forearmed, so the saying goes, so if you chose to continue to read the ramblings that I offer, you do so at your own risk.

 

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

