RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Hot Broccoli Dip

Leave a comment

I am not a good photographer by any stretch of the imagination. This issue is compounded with this recipe because hot dip, in my opinion, is the most un-photogenic food in the world. Despite this I have included this photo because the resulting mess was really delicious and even my vegetable hating husband got tucked into it (there is no better way to promote a vegetable dip than saying ‘my husband ate it’).

I imagine this would have to be one of the most unhealthy ways to include a vegetable in your diet but I choose to rather look at the positive, at least he ate a vegetable today…

Hot Broccoli Dip

1 cup fresh broccoli florets, chopped (I just used a whole head)
2 Tblsp onion, chopped
2 Tblsp red bell, chopped
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
1 garlic clove, pressed
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 cup fat-free sour cream (of course, I used Greek yoghurt, hence the grainy looking texture)
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/8 tsp ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 180C.
Chop broccoli, onion, and bell pepper; place in a mixing bowl.
Reserve 2 Tblsp of the parmesan cheese and add the rest plus remaining ingredients
to vegetables and mix well.
Spoon into a small baking dish and bake 20-25 minutes or until heated through.
Sprinkle remaining 2 Tblsp parmesan cheese over top and serve with crackers, French bread or pita chips.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

