RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Banana smoothie

1 Comment

Recently it has all been about using up old bananas. There are always old bananas in my fridge. I honestly don’t know where they come from, I think they might be breeding in the back of the vegetable bin or reproducing on the top shelf behind all the condiments. Either way, there are always a few to deal with and after cakes and muffins I was getting a little bored with cakey ways of dealing with them so was born my breakfast for a few days last week. Most days I have a big bowl of sliced bananas and grapes around the mid-morning mark. Faced with yet more old bananas and a distinct lack of young ones I decided to pull out the trusty old blender and wiz what I could find into a breakfast smoothie.

So simple but very quick, tasty and satisfying.

Banana smoothie

3 old bananas, peeled
1 Tbls honey
1 cup milk (I use hilo, a kind of skim milk but feel free to use what suits you)
a sprinkle of Nutmeg

Bung it all in the blender and wiz it up until smooth. Drink straight away.
I suggest adding the honey last else it can stick to the bottom and stubbornly refuse to blend.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

One thought on “Banana smoothie

  1. I have found that ‘soft’ bananas with Kale, ginger and maple syrup makes a mean smoothie. Give it a go!

Leave a Reply

