RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Cheesy Roasted Red Pepper Bread

Leave a comment

I wanted something tasty and warming for lunch with my sister. Both of us normally avoid bread but I felt like something a bit different and if you can’t treat yourself when you have guests, when can you? Aside from that I always feel like treats shared are not as bad for you as treats horded, amazing how your brain can justify anything…

Anyway as it was lunch and not a side I used a large rye loaf instead of a French loaf. Frankly I think a French loaf would be easier to deal with, it is smaller to would be easier to both cut and eat, the rye loaf tasted amazing though and I think the messiness kind of added to the charm. I like finger foods.
Also I wasn’t very confident that I could slice a French loaf into 3 layers successfully as I am a bit of a klutz.
The cumin really added something special here and as always I substituted the cilantro/coriander as I just cannot like it no matter how often I try.

Cheesy Roasted Red Pepper Bread

1 loaf  of French bread (I used a much larger and more robust rye loaf)
1 cup  shredded Mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup  mayonnaise or salad dressing (I used mayo)
1/4 cup  roasted red bell peppers well drained, finely chopped
1 tablespoon  chopped fresh cilantro (I dislike coriander and so used parsley)
1/2 teaspoon  ground cumin
1 small  onion

Heat oven to 200C.
Cut bread loaf horizontally into 3 layers. Mix remaining ingredients.
Spread half of the cheese mixture over bottom layer. Top with second layer;
spread with remaining cheese mixture.
Top with third layer; press firmly.
Wrap loaf securely in heavy-duty aluminum foil.
Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until hot. Serve warm.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

