RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Slow Cooker Beef Coke Roast

Leave a comment

I had a bottle of nearly flat vanilla coke in the refrigerator and a couple of beef roast pieces in the freezer. Having heard about coke roast in the slow cooker I decided to give it a whirl. There are no pictures of this unfortunately as I have hungry houseguests and dishing up and getting everyone fed is turning into a confusing whirlwind of a time in my household at the moment.

I was, like with anything new and unusual in the kitchen, interested and maybe a little trepidatious as to what the result was going to be. As it turns out it was quite delicious. If I have the ingredients lying about again at the same time then it will definitely be an option.

Slow Cooker Beef Coke Roast

3x cups vanilla coke (that is just what I had, most recipes call for the original)
2kg beef roast
Thyme
I pkt French onion soup

Mix all ingredients together in a crock pot/slow cooker. (the meat was almost submerged in my cooker, probably ¾ covered)
Cook on low for 8 hrs.
Remove meat and slice,
Remove sufficient liquid to a saucepan. Heat and stir through a cornflour and water mix (1/4 cup water and 1 Tbls cornflour) to thicken, add salt to taste.
Serve meat and gravy with rice or vegetables of choice. (we had broccoli, roast potatoes and rice)

The remaining liquid was a little sweet but, surprisingly, not overly so. I reserved the leftovers and put them in the freezer for future gravy bases.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

