RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

Pumpkin soup

Leave a comment

Soup is wonderful. A bowl full of soup on a winter’s day is a fantastic way to have a tasty meal and provide yourself with a bit of warming comfort food.

While it isn’t winter here by any stretch of the imagination, I had a pumpkin in the refrigerator (butternut pumpkin or butternut squash for those who have different names for these things) and there is no soup that I love more than pumpkin soup.

Normally I eat my pumpkin soup with a generous dollop of Greek yoghurt in the middle but the last time I made it I opened the refrigerator and it was gone! Horror! My daughter had eaten the last of the yoghurt in one of her midnight refrigerator raids (dagger eyes her way) so it was necessary to make another plan. I was somewhat at a loss but after staring at the refrigerator contents for a good long while I decided to try chopped and fried bacon. Not bad. So that is what you see in the photograph here.
I will still reach straight for the yoghurt next time but the bacon idea was pretty darn good as an alternative.

Pumpkin Soup

1 butternut pumpkin, peeled and chopped
1 onion, peeled and diced
2 Tbls butter
Water
Dehydrated vegetable stock
Salt & Pepper

Melt the butter in a large pot.
Add onion and cook until transparent.
Add pumpkin and cook, stirring, for 5 mins.
Cover with water and boil until pumpkin is soft.
Add vegetable stock to taste (2-3 teaspoons)
Blend the soup in the pot with a stab blender.
Salt and pepper to taste.

Serve with a generous dollop of Greek yoghurt, chopped and fried bacon or whatever your personal favourite additive is.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a comment