RandomBacon & MargarineFlowers

Food, general thoughts, food…

A cookie on the richter scale

Leave a comment

It has been a long and emotionally taxing week. I get very depressed when people force me to be the bad guy, take the nasty approach, be heavy handed, be the bitch. It tires me that I can ask nicely for something time after time and be ignored but if I ‘be the bitch’ and demand what I want, get peoples back up, then they notice me and do what I need them to do. But with bad feeling.

I do everything to avoid unpleasant confrontation, I ask pleasantly, I acknowledge peoples other burdens, I offer to help in any way I can. I get the brush off. I demand, be nasty, and virtually scream and people respond with their own vitriol but they actually do what I need them to do. What the hell people? Really?

Anyway, to cheer myself up, because cooking always helps, I made these cookies. They are chocolaty and soft on the inside and crisp yet chewy on the outside. So good and so easy.

I guess you could use any brand of chocolate spread, I went with the obvious and most well-known one on the market here ‘Nutella’. I am not that fond of this spread on anything else but I should never be left alone in the house with it if there is a loaf of fresh white bread available. That is a terrible addiction that I am unable to control. Luckily I don’t normally have it laying around but I had some left over from when the kids last spent time here. The recipe below would have to be the best way to use it up that I have found so far.

Choc earthquake cookies
Makes 24

1/3 cup Nutella (chocolate spread)
100g butter
3/4 cup caster sugar
1 egg
1 1/4 cups flour
2 Tbls cocoa
1/4 tsp bicarb
1/4 cup icing sugar

Melt chocolate spread and butter together. Stir in all other ingredients barring the icing sugar.
Place in fridge to chill for20 mins.
Preheat oven to 180C. Grease 2 oven trays.
Roll Tbls full of mix into balls and roll each ball in icing sugar.
Place 6cm apart on trays. Bake for 12 – 15 mins.
Leave on trays to cool.

Author: kolandasimone

40, on my way to 40 something...Still not sure what I want to do when I grow up, retire probably... Food obsessed, love to cook it, read about it, eat it... Chock full of useless information that crowds out the useful stuff sometimes.

Leave a comment